Hark..I Arrive!

Yet I don’t see any of your shining faces looking up at me in adoration or annoyance. I am not worried. I am sure both will come in time.

I suppose I should introduce myself. This is not an easy thing to do for a normally stand offish, big city person such as me. I am not the first person to feel this way, nor shall I be the last, I am sure. But there is one thing I am sure of.

I like ducks.

Yes, this is the first tidbit of information about myself and it happens to be about waterfowl. What are the odds?

They’re pretty good, actually, seeing as I live so close to a public park with several duck ponds.

I live somewhere in New York. You can call it the Big Apple, you can call it the home of the Yankees or the Knicks (yay for Linsanity), or you can call it a raging cesspool of filth and crime. I love that word…cesspool. It sounds like something that is supposed to be more titillating than it is. Maybe that’s why it was such a popular word in the media and in movies. You can sell things with a word like that.

Don’t believe me? Just ask Dennis Leary. I think I saw him in New York once. I saw Henry Winkler a few days ago, and I saw Darryl Strawberry just yesterday.

I digress. You will find that I do that a lot.

I can tell you about some of the other things that I like. Look up at the title of this blog and you might think I like drums. You’d be right. What kind do I like? I enjoy hand drums like Djembes, bongos and doumbeks. Do I like voodoo? Well, get to know me a little bit and you’ll find out.

Call it what you will. I live in New York.

And I have been living here for almost a year now attempting to figure out just who or what I am. I can promise you, this sounds harder than it is.

Somehow along the journey of taking care of my family, looking for a new job and essentially starting my life over again after a seriously nasty three years, I ended up rediscovering a passion for writing. I’d somehow avoided writing for fun in over ten years. That is a mistake that I do not intend to make again.

Sometime within the last few months, I somehow became involved with a website called writing.com and I’ve been a fiend for writing ever since. I thought my writing was going to come to screeching halt a few months ago when I took a six week break from the site.

I returned, unable to stomach the possibility of another ten year reprieve from my own sanity. And within a short time since my return, I became a member of a group called Horror Inc. You can visit us http://www.writing.com. Set up an account if you want to.

Oh..if you’re trying to find me on the site, the name’s madarame….

I visit the duck pond in the local park to get ideas now for my short stories and for the book I am writing. I’ve gone mad with my story and written nearly 30000 words already. That isn’t so bad when you’ve not written anything for ten years, is it?

You’ll find out how twisted my mind really is…next time.

4 Responses to “Hark..I Arrive!”

  1. Greetings, and welcome to the wonderful world of blogging. I hope to hear more from you soon. And by hear, I do not mean the maddening beat of your drums–though those are nice, too.

    Congratulations on your recent writing whirlwind. I have no doubt you will do well with these endeavors.

    • Aahhhh…my first follower šŸ™‚ How delightful! Thank you for your kind welcome. It means a lot to me. I am hoping the last chapter I wrote of my book has not stopped my forward momentum. I am thankful for your words of encouragement. I hope to see more of you as this blog progresses.

  2. I like ducks too šŸ˜‰ Such inspiration, right? A walk in the park, a light shines through the dark…

    Congrats on starting the new blog. I’ve no doubt that you’ll be just as successful here as you have been on WDC and writing your amazing book. Your enthusiasm for the craft inspires others to keep plugging away on their own projects. Keep up the amazing work! Thank you for being you! LYF!!

    • I like the idea that I have spread enthusiasm about the craft! Thank you for your words. I have been lacking in motivation today, but I think tonight shall be a different story!

Leave a Reply

