Friday the 13th and Drumming….

It’s Friday the thirteenth today.  I could easily kick back and watch a movie a certain masked individual and his blood lust.  That sounds really good to me right now.

 

But I also wore myself out helping my brother celebrate his birthday, which ironically enough, falls on today.

 

For those who don’t know, my little brother is autistic.  His needs are deceptively simple.  24 hour supervision, feeding, bathing, the whole nine :).

 

I wanted to do something special for him, but I couldn’t quite think of what to do right away.  We’d already gotten him a small basketball for his birthday last week, but we waited until his actual birthday to celebrate.

 

I couldn’t fly my favorite remote controlled helicopter for his enjoyment because I couldn’t find the remote.  But I’ve done it before, and he seems to enjoy it, even with my bad “Agh Nud” Shwartzennegger accent.

 

Me Flying my Chopper for my Bro, Fabian

 

Instead, I played my djembe drum for him to celebrate.  He loved it 😉

 

I also found a way to share my recordings with you, so I’ll keep this entry simple.  I’ll wish everyone a happy Friday the 13th (I write horror, what do you expect?) I also route for Jason every time I watch the second movie!

 

And I’ll wish my brother a happy 31st birthday.  Red velvet cake rules!  Enjoy these beats!

 

recording 1, recording 2, recording 3

6 Responses to “Friday the 13th and Drumming….”

  1. Wow those drums are incredible! I love them so much. I may have to keep coming back those for short meditations. Thanks for sharing!

    On another note…my son and nephew share your brother’s bday. One is 15 and the other is 2. Such a small world!

    • That’s unreal!!! Talk about a small world, indeed!

      (big hugs) Aries children 😀

      Thank you for listening to my drums. It’s a passion of mine. Sometimes drumming expresses something that words never can for me. It’s helped me through some rough times in my life, and it has also helped me express pure gratitude.

      I sent a beat to the universe for your recovery…sometimes, drumming is my form of prayer as well to the powers that be. Perhaps the universe responded. Who knows? But I am glad you are ok…

  2. aha. your sound is like HIM who I left. heard of taketina? i was introduced to percussions 2 years ago and never looked back. the ex is one of the few drummers of his country who also plays percussions ie ashiko, bongo, djembe…

    i am beginning to adore your sound. keep on beating!

    • Of COURSE I’ve heard of Taketina! A good friend and mentor of mine named Patrick Pinson introduced me to Taketina a couple of yeas ago when I was living in Oregon. I also used to know a guy names Arliss who was a spoon warrior! He could make music with spoons that I could never match with the speed of my hands! But the best by far is drumming with a live band. I’ve done that once, and I hope to do it again someday 🙂

      I am glad you were able to hear my sound 🙂 I have some more experimenting to do as I have now attained a new Mic that was apparently designed to record musical instruments. I hope to goodness it works. It will make these drum beats even easier on your ears;)

      Thanks again! I just looked at your Blog. I can relate strongly to the need to start over. A massive break up of mine 2 years ago placed me on a journey. My drumming is a part of the journey. Now, it seems, you are too. Welcome!

      • thank you for taking the time to read my blog. sometimes starting over is just an opportunity to run away from loneliness, only to stumble into another. but i digress. 🙂

        playing drums with a live band is indeed orgasmic, to some levels. i guess, it’s the intensity and the power of a full drum set on fire that pulls the music up to another depth. and!!! the euphoria of the crowd’s approving applause, if any. i felt so, too, when i was in a band.

        your post on loneliness being powerful gets 2 thumbs up and 2 big toes up from me! keep writing! 🙂

      • I understand that part about starting over as well. As you can tell, I have run into that very issue lately…

        A full drum set on a stage just electrifies me. And yes, you describe it aptly, it is indeed so sexual in its energy that you can’t help but feel like as through the driving beats are the going to make you explode in pleasure. William Shatner, of all people, has even talked about the power of “singing” in front of live band and how sexual it really is. Whoah!

        I shall indeed keep writing 😉 And maybe you need not feel as alone…

Leave a Reply

