I’m here.

I’m not exactly sure what that means. I’ve toweled off after a shower. I look in the bathroom mirror. My right forearm sports a nasty purple welt that’s red around the edges. It stung when I washed it. There’s a cut on my face, just above my left eye. It looks worse than it is. In fact, it looks like my barber didn’t know when to quit and I got razor burn on my forehead.

There is another wound I can’t see, right at my knee. It’s an open wound I’ve had to cover with a band aid.

One would have thought this was from a street brawl or something. I guess when I think about it, I didn’t come off too badly. I can still move, though it stings sometimes. Bending my knee at work today will be an interesting experience.

But the real reason I’m bruised is because my autistic brother lost his cool yesterday. He had what we in this family have learned to call “one of his episodes.” It makes it seem like some kind of cop drama or something. NYPD Autism? Yeah, not so much. It’s not nearly as entertaining as all that, but it can get your blood pumping. You will leap out of your chair. It’s a “full body” experience.

But that doesn’t mean I want to participate.

I’ve got loads of work to do today. I have my actual job sometime this afternoon I think. If I have an afternoon shift, i might want to get some laundry done. And after work, I’ve got a bunch of damned plastic bins to put into the storage warehouse about a block and a half away.

Yeah. I’d say I’ve got my work cut out for me.

Happy Birthday to me. 😉

 

6 Responses to “”

  1. I’ve ‘liked’ this, not because I like what’s happened but to show support. Try to enjoy the rest of your day. As you say “you are here”. Sometimes we have to be grateful for just being. Happy Birthday. Just be.

  2. I agree with Audrey. I ‘liked’ this to show support as well. Definitely not because I like what’s happened. It can only get better from here. Hopefully it will end on a good note ;). You and I both know the best is yet to come. Vacation can’t come soon enough. 2 more days and we’ll celebrate it right! Happy Birthday, Angel! LYF, bestie <3<3

  3. Another day older and the scars to prove it. Like every other trial you’ve faced, I know you’ll come out of it tired but still passing oxygen.

    E.

  4. Carla Says:

    I know those episodes. Except bipolar disorder is the cause. I’ve been the one beat and the one beating. My son and I both have it. You have my empathy and my love.

Leave a Reply

