NYC in Pictures

Getting out there is hard. I know some people think it’s easy to go out in public, meet new people, hang out with them over a few drinks, cut a rug, shoot the shit, whatever the hell it is that they’re into. But for me, that’s never been an easy task. I’ve always been incredibly shy. I’ve also learned to out-muscle that shyness and put myself in heart-pounding situations that seem so simple for the socially apt. I wouldn’t say I was socially challenged, but I have my days where all I want to do is curl up and forget that anyone else exists in the world.

But those are becoming less and less common.

Part of that for me is having a reason to have fun out there. I’m not going to actively pursue conversation with random strangers, but it seems to happen more and more of late. It helps that someone dear to me was thoughtful enough to get me the best early Christmas gift ever. Nikon is the name of the new love of my life.

I know I have waxed pretty about the New York City. I like to write posts where I explain what it is that I see when I walk down these streets.

But sometimes, words just won’t do it.

Now I’ve been given an opportunity to show you some of what I truly see.

I hope you enjoy it.

I’m sort of relearning Christmas in New York. Some would argue that it’s been blunted by the effects of Hurricane Sandy and the Presidential Election. Who am I to argue? I’m too busy noting how beautiful New York is at this time of year.

3 Responses to “NYC in Pictures”

  1. Ha! I soo get what you are saying here, I’m the same way. I frequently feel lke I should be “out’ somewhere, doing something with someone, and I’ll lament it terribly, then I turn on my TV or open a good book and then I’m fine. At the end of the day, I guess you only just need to be in the mood to socialize, and if you’re not, there’s nothing wrong with that either. Nonetheless, glad you’re out and about in Manhattan! I can’t wait to visit again…I have a sibling there that I need to torture….

  2. Beautiful photos of your beautiful city. Lovely and atmospheric, I hope to visit New York one day, I’ve heard so much about it but seeing these photos convinces me what a wonderful place it is. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

